Doctor Strange Inspired Edit Process

Hey everyone! For this week’s blog post I decided to show some details of what went into a Doctor Strange inspired edit I did recently. When the movie posters were released, I was absolutely amazed by the multi-dimensional look and creativity of them. One of them is displayed below. I wanted to re-create this look and put my photoshop skills to the test. All of the photos I used for this edit were taken by myself and composited into the final image at the end of this post.

doctorstrange0014

I didn’t want to duplicate the above image exactly, so I made a few adjustments. I found this self-portrait I took in my archives and thought it would be a good base to work off of. Unfortunately I didn’t take progress photos of the edit itself. But I am going to show the order of how the images were incorporated into the edit.
img_7777

The first thing I needed to do was adjust the sky in the above photo because it was rather plain. The below photo was from a gorgeous sunset and the colors would work perfectly for this edit.

img_6463

I made some adjustments to the terrain by taking pieces of the cliffs in the photo below from Montauk.

img_1538

This photo was used to create the imagery in the top right corner of the photo. I split the photo in half and rotated one half of the skyline 90 degrees and blended the water.

img_0648

The next two photos are aerial helicopter shots and were great to include in this edit for another sense of perspective and dimension. For this one below I simply erased the sky.

img_5091

I played around with this photo a ton and then thought it would be interesting to have myself walking on the side of Empire State Building. Then I blended in the rest of the skyline.

img_1642

Finally I added the sun as a finishing touch to the sky. Here below is the final version of what I created! Let me know what you guys think! I really enjoyed creating it and look forward to more projects like this in the future.

doctor_strange

Leave a Reply

